Marquis Top Doctors

Cynthia R. Pfeffer, MD

Title: Psychiatrist
Location: New York, New York, United States

Cynthia R. Pfeffer, MD, psychiatrist, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Doctors for dedication, achievements, and leadership in mental health.

With 42 years of experience to her credit, Dr. Pfeffer has excelled as a child and adolescent psychiatrist. Throughout her distinguished career, she has worked with depressed and suicidal children and adolescents, as well as older patients with an array of issues and conditions. She began her career as the president of the New York Council on Child And Adolescent Psychiatry in 1989.

Dr. Pfeffer continued her career at Weill Cornell Medicine Medical College as a professor of psychiatry in 1989, director of the Childhood Bereavement Program in 1999, professor of clinical psychiatry from 1984 to 2022, and currently, professor emeritus. She established herself as associate director of the Child Psychiatry Inpatient Unit at Albert Einstein College of Medicine from 1973 to 1979. At the New York Presbyterian Weill Cornell Medical Center, she garnered a stellar reputation as chief of the Child Psychiatry Inpatient Unit from 1979 to 1995.

Before embarking on her professional path, Dr. Pfeffer pursued an education at Douglas College, where she earned a Bachelor of Arts in 1964. She concluded her studies at New York University, graduating with a Medical Doctorate in 1968. She was recognized as a distinguished life fellow of the American Psychiatric Association.

Beyond her responsibilities within the field, Dr. Pfeffer has participated in numerous endeavors outside of her professional circles. She contributed as editor of “Intense Stress and Mental Disturbance in Children” in 1996 and “Youth Suicide: Perspectives on Risk and Prevention” in 1989, and co-editor of “Child and Adolescent Neurology for Psychiatrist” in 1992 and 2008, and “Neurologic Disorders: Developmental and Behavioral Sequelae for Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Clinics of North America” in 1999. She found success with her written works “Difficult Moments in Child Psychotherapy” in 1988, “The Suicidal Child” in 1986, and several additional published papers.

In addition to her primary vocation, Dr. Pfeffer remains affiliated with various organizations in relation to her areas of expertise. She was a member of the American Psychopathological Association. She was appointed to the role of president of the American Association of Suicidology and councilor-at-large for the American Academy of Child And Adolescent Psychiatry.

In light of her impressive undertakings, Dr. Pfeffer has accrued several accolades throughout her career. She was presented with the William Shonfeld Award by the American Society of Adolescent Psychiatry in 2009, the Sigmund Freud Award by the American Society of Psychoanalytic Physicians in 1994, the Wilford Hulse Award by the New York Council On Child & Adolescent Psychiatry in 1989, the Norbert Rieger Award by the American Academy Child & Adolescent Psychiatry in 1988, the Erwin Stengel Award by the International Association of Suicide Prevention in 1987, and the Young Contributors Award from the American Association of Suicidology in 1981 and 1982.

Dr. Pfeffer is immensely proud of her award-winning and tenured career. Through her efforts, she has had the opportunity to help countless patients, work with top scientists and psychiatrists in the field, and participate in lectures worldwide. In the immediate future, she intends to continue with her current engagements and pursue additional writing opportunities.

Contact Dr. Pfeffer:

Share with:


More to explore

Veronica Vlad

Title: Senior Director of Hematology, Oncology, and Global Project Management Company:  Thermo Fisher Scientific, Inc. Location: Spring, Texas, United States Veronica

Sachidanand “Peter” R. Peteru

Title: Director of Consultation and Liaison Psychiatry Company: Jamaica Hospital Medical Center Location: Jamaica, New York, United States Sachidanand “Peter” R.