Steven Buskirk

Title: Radiation Oncologist, Educator
Company: Mayo Clinic
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States

Steven J. Buskirk, M.D., Chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at Mayo Clinic, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Doctors for dedication, achievements, and leadership in radiation oncology.

A respected voice in the medical community, Dr. Buskirk notably serves the distinguishable Mayo Clinic in Florida as chair of the department of radiation oncology. Specializing in bladder cancer, eye melanoma, kidney cancer, prostate cancer, and testicular cancer, Dr. Buskirk has garnered a laudable reputation amongst his colleagues and other industry professionals. In addition to his executive role with the Mayo Clinic, he is also a professor of radiation oncology for the Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine and Science. Dr. Buskirk’s advice to aspiring medical professionals is to pursue your passion and to listen and learn from the industry’s best. He personally thanks his mentors, Dr. John Earole, Leonard Gunderson, Dr. Gianrico Farrugia, and Dr. John Noseworthy for their motivation and support.

Dr. Buskirk received an MD from the University of Nebraska College of Medicine in 1979 and went on to complete a residency in therapeutic radiology at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine’s Mayo Graduate School of Medicine by 1983. That same year, he became board certified by the American Board of Radiology, allowing him to commence professional work in the field. While pursuing his studies, Dr. Buskirk discovered his interests in prostate cancer, ocular melanoma, and genitourinary cancers, and chose to further pursue these arenas in his professional future.

Named a regional top doctor by Castle Connolly in 2017 and 2009, Dr. Buskirk has been the recipient of various awards and accolades throughout the course of his career. In 2017, he was named to the top five percent of America’s Most Honored Professionals and was named to the Top 100 Doctors in State by Best Doctors. Additionally, Dr. Buskirk was included in the Guide to America’s Top Oncologists in 2010. An emeritus member of the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees, Dr. Buskirk presently holds membership with the American Society for Radiation Oncology, formerly the American Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology, and the American College of Radiology. Since 2015, he has served as chair of the Mayo Clinic’s People and Culture Committee, having previously served as their Personnel Coordinating Committee Chair from 2013 to 2015. To attest to Dr. Buskirk’s legacy, he and his accomplishments can also be found in the eighth edition of Who’s Who in Medicine and Healthcare.

Contact Dr. Buskirk:

Leave a Reply